RIHCA provides resources to community health centers to strengthen the existing and build a committed workforce. in 2020, Rhode Island Community Health Centers employed 1811 full-time equivalent (FTEs) positions. RIHCA assists community health centers by providing training and technical assistance for recruiting and retaining a qualified workforce and staff development opportunities. Additionally, RIHCA supports health centers with expanded workforce health training and strategic workforce planning.

See below for workforce tools and resources

This program is available to health professionals who work in federally recognized provider shortage area site. All Federally Qualified Health Centers meet this designation.

The 2021 application cycle is closed. Please check back for information on the 2022 application cycle.

Click here for more information about the loan repayment program.

Call for Applications: Oral Health Workforce Learning Collaborative

NNOHA is seeking interested health centers to participate in a virtual learning collaborative that will focus on developing a recruitment and retention plan for the oral health workforce. This project is funded through NNOHA’s National Training and Technical Assistance Partnership with the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) and is in partnership with the Association for Clinicians of the Underserved’s STAR2 Center. The learning collaborative will take place virtually from January to June 2022. At the end of this learning collaborative, the project team should be able to produce and share a clear outline for their recruitment and retention plan for oral health team members.

Accepted health centers will participate in six 1 hour learning collaborative sessions. Health centers must identify a team to participate in this learning collaborative (dental leadership member, human resources member, and operations member). The dates for the sessions are:

  • January 10, 2022 at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET
  • February 7, 2022 at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET
  • March 7, 2022 at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET
  • April 4, 2022 at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET
  • May 2, 2022 at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET
  • June 6, 2022 at 11am PT/12pm MT/1pm CT/2pm ET

Online applications are due December 10, 2021 at 5pm Pacific Time
Click HERE to apply

Workforce update

Last fall, Rhode Island’s Federally Qualified Health Centers were sent The Readiness to Train Assessment Tool (RTAT) to help assess their readiness for engaging with Health Professions Training (HPT) programs. It will be RIHCA's goal over the next two years to support health centers through training and technical assistance to grow and develop strategic and HPT workforce plan activities.

Has Your Health Center Taken the RTAT Assessment?

The Health Resources and Services Administration Bureaus of Primary Health Care and Health Workforce (HRSA) and RIHCA are working to increase provider recruitment and retention.

One way to do this is by encouraging and facilitating HRSA's health professional education and training (HP-ET) initiative in our community health centers.

We know that health professionals who receive training at a community health center are much more likely to work in one. The RTAT is your first step toward an HP-ET program that will help
address your workforce needs. The HP-ET Initiative will use the RTAT, developed by Community Health Center (CHC), Inc., to assist health centers in assessing and improving their readiness to engage in health professions training programs.

For more info on RTAT visit: https://www.chc1.com/rtat/